Monday musings

Yesterday a chiropractor had his way with me for the first time in my life. Ouch! But the pain in my hip is gone. Today for the first time ever, I had a pleasurable non-invasive facial. Ahh, blissful heaven. Laguuni day spa is indeed a small heaven on earth. A spa I have wanted to go to for years and now finally thanks to the gift card my dear friends gave me on my birthday, I had the opportunity to enjoy a facial like no other I have tried before. Lots of oils, gentle massages of my face, neck, fingers and some less gentle ones of arms and legs.  Absolutely no squeezing of pimples! And at the end of the session I was offered a cup of spicy tea with a bit of honey. On my way out I almost forgot my jacket. Not the first time it happens to customers the receptionist informed me.

So now I am in total bliss. Thanks to the chiropractor my hip does not hurt anymore, darn do I sound like an old lady…and my head does not feel like a heavy square box. The idea was to use my other gift card and then go to Café Art to have a nice cup of green tea and a sandwich. Well, fat chance. The queue almost went out on the street and it was only fifteen past 4 pm for Moses sake! This is not the first time it happens to me so a fair warning to those of you who want to enjoy great coffee at around 4-5 pm, choose another coffee shop! The next café had gone back to being closed on Mondays, but third times a charm so I went to a coffee shop nearby and indulged in both a croissant and a chocolate mint cake. Not a bad choice at all. But I forgot to take a picture of the cake, it went down that fast.

Self care is both the new craze and at the same time a symptom that we in the western world have gone some what astray. Both too much me and too little we. And vice versa. For many years now I have neglected myself and my health in many ways and what I might have been forgiven in my thirties is no longer an option. During this weekend at the big exhibition “Osaava nainen” here in Turku where I shared a stand with my business partner Minna and Laura and Karri from lvngroom I got so many golden nuggets from different people that I think it´s time to move from careless to self care. If this years theme was Dream Big, next year will be about health and nurturing body and soul. In a way I think this video sums it all up!

On my way home I strolled through on of the big malls in Turku and found this advertisement showing how absolutely genius the Finnish language is. ‘Lokakuu’ means October and ‘Lukukuu’ is a playful way of showing that October is the month to indulge in reading as the word ‘luku’ means both chapter, count and reading amongst a lot of other meanings.

Day spa Lukukuu
Day spa gift                                                The playfulness of Lukukuu vs Lokakuu
Autumn bliss  Tranquility
Beautiful Autumn in Turku!          Serene tranquility – best de-stressers ever!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Carolina Gårdheim

För kreativa kvinnor med stora hjärtan, själar & drömmar

Anna palaa, Anna!

eli Elämää sanojen ja kuvien kimpussa

pinkiebag

A blog all about my love of cups of tea and dairy free food

thebowdenbothy

a woman, a nikon d610 and a daily walk

allmytruestories

Lauter wahre Geschichten

Wild Woman Was Here.

There is a whole lot of poetry in motion

