A Fabulous Friday in Hanko

I am sitting at a big metallic desk surrounded by people happily chatting with each other,  coffee in one hand and the other on their laptops. There are two main groups, one is sitting in the sofa at the coffee table and the other has gathered around this huge steel table. More people are joining and the atmosphere is buzzing with anticipation. Some know each other from before, some are complete strangers. The idea of coming to this studio to do distance work in the most southwest parts of Finland was so tantalizing that I could not but jump on the train with my iPad and my journals. This is the reason I changed my Magic Monday into a Fabulous Friday instead and boy am I happy I did it.

Already on the train my creative juices got flowing and there seems to be no end to it. The weather Gods have been in our favor all day long and for once it´s neither chilly nor windy here in Finland´s World´s End, Hanko. A town people visit in the summer for its beautiful old villas and long sandy beaches but as small towns does it quiets down during the winter season.

While I am deep into writing my blog post simultaneously scribbling ideas in my notebook a girl sits down next to me. We start chatting and soon find out that she came all the way from Helsinki just as I did from Turku. She wants to figure out what to do, I offer workshops together with my business partner Minna for women just like her. Serendipity or coincidence?

A leisurely lunch accompanied by a glass of white wine makes me long for more occasions like these. When the afternoon grew nearer we decided to name this day a “Creative work day”. Much more fun than a distance working day. And truth to be told I have been in a flow ever since I entered the train, being more creative than in weeks, maybe even months. But contrast is what makes it all the sweeter so we probably do need boring and or stressful weeks to fully appreciate when opportunities like this show up. No light without darkness, no black without white. It has indeed been a roller coaster week and far from boring but on the verge of being too much for me. A creative work day away from my regular routines and surroundings is definitely the best way to end a work week!

The whole idea of inviting people to this photography studio can be attributed to the Creative Hanko Collective, a bunch of crazy creative fab people wanting to change this small town into something more than just a ordinary place of living. Warning peeps – this group has it really going!

Next creative work day is December 4th and it is already in my calendar.  Well, I guess someone has to support public transportation to this small town where my mother was born 91 years ago or else there will be no more trains stopping at Hanko.

Hanko LiljeforsArriving at the train station (sadly no longer in use as a train station)
Studio regatta
At Studio Tomi Parkkonen                               Passing by the Hotel Regatta, beautifully renovated.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Carolina Gårdheim

För kreativa kvinnor med stora hjärtan, själar & drömmar

Anna palaa, Anna!

eli Elämää sanojen ja kuvien kimpussa

pinkiebag

A blog all about my love of cups of tea and dairy free food

thebowdenbothy

a woman, a nikon d610 and a daily walk

allmytruestories

Lauter wahre Geschichten

Wild Woman Was Here.

There is a whole lot of poetry in motion

